The Haka Party Incident

By Katie Wolfe

An Auckland Theatre Company production

Original season co-presented by Auckland Arts Festival

Starring: Roimata Fox, Richard Te Are, Neenah Dekkers-Reihana, Aidan O'Malley, Lauren Gibson, Patrick Tafa and Jarred Blakiston

Images: Andi Crown Photography

The last New Zealand war took place in Auckland in 1979. It lasted three minutes.

The Haka Party Incident resurrects the eventful day when a group of University of Auckland engineering students rehearsing their annual tradition of a mock haka are confronted by the activist group, He Taua.

The incident sent ripples through the nation and changed race relations in New Zealand forever.

Award-winning The Haka Party Incident, returns after a sold-out premiere season.

Crafted by film-maker and theatre director Katie Wolfe (The Mooncake and the Kumara, Waru, He Māngai Wāhine, Artefact), The Haka Party Incident is verbatim theatre that innovatively combines documentary and kapa haka to thrilling effect. 

Provocative, resonant and unforgettable. A not-to-be-missed landmark theatre event. 

 

"An innovative, brilliant piece of theatre all New Zealanders need to see." — Ethan Sills, NZ Herald

"Continues a vital conversation we should all be having about tearing down racist institutions and standing in solidarity with tangata whenua.” — Anuja Mitra, Theatrescenes

“This production is a gift that every New Zealander deserves to enjoy” — John Smythe, Theatreview

Please Note: The Haka Party Incident includes some bad language, portrays institutional racism and cultural appropriation and historical examples of how haka and Te Reo Māori were incorrectly used and performed in the past.

 

Show Dates and Bookings

Auckland

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Saturday, 2nd October - 8pm

Auckland

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Sunday, 3rd October - 4pm

Auckland

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Tuesday, 5th October - 7pm

Auckland

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Wednesday, 6th October - 7pm

Auckland

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Thursday, 7th October - 7pm

Auckland

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Friday, 8th October - 8pm

Auckland

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Saturday, 9th October - 8pm

Auckland

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Sunday, 10th October - 4pm

Gisborne (Te Tairāwhiti Arts Festival)

Gisborne War Memorial Theatre

Friday, 15th October

Hastings (Hawke's Bay Arts Fstival)

Toitoi Hawke's Bay Arts & Events Centre

Monday, 18th October

Nelson (Nelson Arts Festival)

Theatre Royal

Friday, 22nd October

Nelson (Nelson Arts Festival)

Theatre Royal

Saturday, 23rd October

Tauranga (Tauranga Arts Festival)

Baycourt Community & Arts Centre

Friday, 29th October - 8pm

New Plymouth (Reset Festival)

TSB Showplace

Thursday, 4th November

SIGN UP TO OUR NEWSLETTER